Honours for Welsh farming leaders

24 Gorffennaf 2019

A number of hardworking and deserving industry leaders have again been honoured by the Council of Awards of Royal Agricultural Societies for their contribution to the agricultural and rural industries in Wales.

The Welsh National Panel and the National Moderators Panel for the Council of Awards of Royal Agricultural Societies scrupulously consider many applications made each year, the following applicants, who were deemed of a high enough standard to be granted the coveted title of either fellow or associate, have been officially presented with their awards at a reception held on the Tuesday evening (23 July) of the 2019 Royal Welsh Show.


In all cases the outstanding achievements of candidates are expected to be demonstrably above the general level of other people working in the same fields, whether in farming, research, public work or other activities.


Mr Dyfrig Wyn Hughes of Llangefni, Ynys Mon for his submission ‘Growth and Development through Involvement in Agricultural Clubs and Societies’.

Mr D Lyndon Joseph of Stormy Down, Bridgend for his submission ‘Recognising lupins as an excellent source of home-grown protein and adding value to the farming business’.

Mr Christopher Lloyd of Newtown, Powys for his submission ‘A retail business based on a passion for rural life’.

Mr Rhys David Lougher of Pyle, Bridgend for his submission ‘The Importance of Marketing and Public Engagement when Selling Agricultural Produce direct from the Farm’.

Mr Bruce McKay of Martletwy, Narberth for his submission ‘Services to Agriculture and Livestock Improvement’.

Mr David Morris of Brecon, Powys for his submission ‘A mission to secure a sustainable farming and food industry in Wales’.

Mr W Meirion Owen of Llanarthne, Carmarthen for his submission ‘My Life with Sheepdogs leading to be an Ambassador for the Agriculture Industry in the Corporate World’.

Mrs Joyce Owens of Llannon, Llanelli for her submission ‘My Contribution to the Pig Industry’.

Mr Huw E M Thomas of Llanfallteg, Whitland, Carmarthenshire for his submission ‘Development of the Puffin Sustainable Supply Chain’.

Mr David Brian Walters of Ffynnonddrain, Carmarthen for his submission ‘The Welfare of Farmers and Farming Communities and Sustainable Dairy Production’.


Associates are considered for advancement to fellowship only if a continuing significant contribution to agriculture or related industry during their period of associateship can be demonstrated. Advancement is not automatic and has to be earned by further outstanding service to the industry.

The following associates have been awarded fellowships:

Mr Colin Gordon of Llanrhidian, Gower. His original submission was titled ‘Mixed Farming, Sheepdog Breeding and Trialling’.

Mr Dylan Tudur Jones of Bryn-Rhydd, Edern, Pwllheli. His original submission was titled ‘Grassland Management’. Mr Jones was unable to attend CARAS Reception.

Mr Arwyn M Owen of Beddgelert, Gwynedd. His original submission was titled ‘Supporting Hill Farming through Public Engagement’.

Mr Aled Owen of Penyfed, Tynant, Corwen.  His original submission was titled ‘One Man and His Dog’.

Dr Iwan Owen of Caersws, Powys His original submission was titled ‘Education and Training in Agriculture’.

Mr David Phillips of Windsor Farm, Lamphey, Pembroke.  His original submission was titled ‘Beef Finishing Unit and Lambs for the Early Market’.

Mrs Janet Phillips of Pen-Y-Gelli, Bethel Road, Caernarfon. Her original submission was titled ‘Communicating Policy Objectives to the Farming Industry’.

Mr Robert Rattray or Ffos-Y-Fuwch, New Cross, Aberystwyth. His original submission was titled ‘Selecting Quality Livestock to Produce Quality Meat’.

Mrs Julie Thomas of Caerlan Farm, Tonypandy. Her original submission was titled ‘Facilitating personal skills development within farming families’. Mrs Thomas was unable to attend CARAS Reception.